Title Race is Heating Up in South Africa

Remi Bizouard - Cliffhanger Flip
The World Tour returns to Pretoria with a phenomenal rider lineup

After a sold-out South African debut last year, Red Bull X-Fighters heads back to Pretoria on September 12, featuring the same phenomenal lineup that made history at the midsummer classic in Madrid. The 2015 season is entering its home stretch, and – with four riders still clutching a chance for the World Tour title – the fight will reach a fever pitch.

Pretoria's iconic statue of Nelson Mandela will oversee the action as the world's most prestigious freestyle motocross series soars in front of the majestic Union Buildings for the second year in a row. In 2014, a capacity crowd of 22,000 thrilled to Red Bull X-Fighters South Africa, and this year spectators will have even more to cheer about: The best lineup the series has seen in its 15-year history will bring their incredible new tricks, and with only two contests left in the season, the tussle for the World Tour title will escalate to epic proportions.

The competition is so tight that none of the four riders within reach of the World Tour championship can clinch it in Pretoria, and a minor mistake could put them out of the running. Having won the first two stops in 2015, Australia's Clinton Moore tops the standings; but a third-place finish at Madrid has left him only a few points ahead of 2013 World Tour champion Tom Pagès of France, whose jaw-dropping runs in the Spanish capital earned him a historic hat trick of three consecutive wins at the Las Ventas bullring.

Also in striking distance is New Zealand's Levi Sherwood, the 2012 World Tour champion who, like Pagès, has the potential to become only the second man ever to capture two Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour titles. Rounding out this fantastic four of freestyle motocross is France's David Rinaldo, whose career-best 2015 season has also put him in championship contention.

South Africa's 12-man field includes eight Red Bull X-Fighters event winners: Moore, Pagès and Dany Torres (ESP), plus Rob Adelberg (AUS), Adam Jones (USA), Taka Higashino (JPN) and reigning World Tour champion Josh Sheehan (AUS), who was crowned at the 2014 finale right in Pretoria. Statistically, Sheehan can't claim another championship this year; but Pretoria's vast course suits his larger-than-life riding style, and with the field's only double-backflip he could be a spoiler to win in South Africa and shake up the standings overall.

After the event in Pretoria, the 2015 Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour Championship will be decided at the season finale on October 30 at Abu Dhabi's spectacular waterfront Corniche in the United Arab Emirates.

UPDATE: Sherwood pulls out of Pretoria stop due to ankle injury 

Watch Red Bull X-Fighters South Africa LIVE!

Tickets: Computicket

Webcast: We will stream the entire competition LIVE on redbullxfighters.com and Red Bull TV will broadcast from the Quarter Finals on. Red Bull TV is available on connected TVs, gaming consoles, mobile devices and more. For a full list of supported devices visit about.redbull.tv.

Please note that the broadcast is geo-blocked in the USA, but will be shown exclusively on Fox Sports 1

Start Times: 01:30 pm SAST on redbullxfighters.com with exclusive Round 1 coverage | 02:00 pm SAST on Red Bull TV

Europe: 01:30pm (CET) | Canada: 04:30am (PST) | Mexico: 06:30am (CST) | Brasil: 08:30am (BRT) | Japan: 08:30pm (JST) | Australia: 09:30pm (AEST)
 | New Zealand: 11.30pm (NZST)

Video on Demand: The entire competition will be available as a VoD right after the event on redbullxfighters.com and Red Bull TV. In the US right after the event was aired on Fox Sport 1.

TV: The main event will also broadcast live on several TV stations around the globe. Please check local listings for details.

Live Results: For real-time results and standings visit redbullxfighters.com/results